20,000-24,999 SparkPoints 20,428

The Buffalo Trace Distillery in KY


Interact with 69NURSE
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

I am now 68 y/o and mostly retired from an almost 50 year career in nursing. I have been married for 48+ years, have 2 grown sons, a grown granddaughter and 2 adorable great granddaughters. '

My favorite hobbies are reading (I really like mysteries with some romance), traveling and riding our Honda Goldwing with my husband. Family is very important to me and I love being able to visit the boys, or our granddaughter's family whenever possible.

I participated in my first half marathon at age 60 and did my third and final one at the USAF base in Ohio 3 years later with my husband - it was his first and last, but was appropriate being there since he had served 4 years in the Air Force. During those years, I also enjoyed spending time with all those Spark People who participated in "Just A Short Run" in Pittsburgh PA. What a great bunch of people. Whether you were able to run/walk/or just cheer on the others, you were always welcome and supported in your endeavors.

Since I retired 3 years ago, I have turned into a couch potato and once again realize, the NEED to return to a more healthy lifestyle - back to exercise and watching my diet. We don't eat poorly, I think I have just gotten into the habit of eating TOO much. I believe it is NEVER too late to make the change so I am back to SP once again. Thank you for your support

Member Since: 2/12/2010

Fitness Minutes: 30,695

My Goals:
I want to become more focused on managing my nutrition and exercise so I can be a healthy, energetic "poster child" for growing older.

My Program:
I will try to conquer the portion control of eating, exercise daily and make time for me at least once a week. This will include strength training, walking, sparking (which is sometimes my only ME time) and not beating myself up when I falter

Personal Information:
I have lived most of my life in the small community of Woodland, PA about 35 miles west of State College. Except for 3 years of nursing school in New Kensington, PA. I have been married to the same man for almost 46 years; we have 2 great sons, a d-i-l, 1 granddaughter, and 2 great granddaughters. There are also 5 grand-dogs (Springer Spaniels). Life is great if I allow it to be!

Other Information:
My favorite things to do are read, ride our motorcycle and visit our kids.

When I was in nursing school, our motto was "never look down on anyone, only God sits up that high" I still like it!

Although I enjoy most kinds of music, I am more of a country fan (especially older music)

Read More About 69NURSE - Profile Information moved here. (Updated March 5)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"
My Goals:

My Program:

Personal Information:

Other Information:

Personal Signature: (Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 current weight: 144.8 
Login to Leave Comment
Member Comments (391):  123Next >Last >>