100,000-149,999 SparkPoints 124,422

My youngest son and his beautiful family.

Visiting my favorite team on my birthday. Go Pats!



Thank You Message

Sports Equipment

Interact with CATE195
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment

April 22, 2017

I will be turning 65 this summer (had to sign up for medicare) Can't believe how fast time has gone by.

I am a retired teacher and live on Cape Cod with my husband. We have 5 children and 7 grandchildren who we love dearly! We enjoy walking on most days through the cottage area and down to the beach. In the summer, I have a garden and my husband has a small boat that he uses for fishing. The rest of the year we plan trips and travel. We just went to Alaska in June and have a Hawaii trip planned for October.

Right now I am in the Summer 5% Challenge. I love it! It has motivated me to get back to tracking and watching my calories. I have been back and forth to SparkPeople over many years. It is a terrific online support.

Member Since: 1/3/2009

Fitness Minutes: 79,973

My Goals:
My goal for the 2017 Fall 5% Challenge is continue to see the scale move down. I would love to lose the 5%, which is about 7 pounds, but I only have 7.5 pounds to goal so I'm not sure that will happen. I will be happy to lose another 3-4 pounds.
My exercise committment for the 2017 Fall 5% Challenge is to continue to walk 4-5 miles each day and to continue to do stength training 3 times a week. I would also like to try more of the SP videos.

My healthy eating and nutrition plan for the 2017 Fall 5% Challenge I will continue to follow th SP tracker and stay within 1200-1500 calories a day. I will be sure to get the right amount of carbs, fats, protein, fiber and sodium.

My long term goal is to finish what I started back in 2009.

My Program:
I will soon be in the third round with the 5% Challenge team. I hope to use this as a motivation to start the scale moving down.
I use the Spark People tracker to stay with calorie allowance and check that my nutrtion figures are where they should be.
I am going to strength class 3 days a week. I just got a fitbit and I'm trying to do 10,000+ steps each day.

Personal Information:
My husband and I are semi-retired, (we keep busy and work flexible part time jobs). We love the Patriots and traveling. We enjoy being on the beach, or hiking in the mountains. We have 5 children and 7 grandchildren. We feel blessed to have such a good life and such a wonderful family.

Other Information:

Read More About CATE195 - Profile Information moved here. (Updated September 12)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"
My Goals:

My Program:

Personal Information:

Other Information:

Personal Signature: (Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
Current Status:
My Ticker:
 current weight: 146.5 
Login to Leave Comment
Member Comments (353):  < Previous12345Next >Last >>