DEELOVELY1   4,634
SparkPoints
4,000-5,499 SparkPoints
 
 



I have 11 pics in my gallery





Awards






 
No time like the present to get healthy and fit

Hello! I'm a working mother of 2 young children. I joined Sparkpeople back in 2012 and have revisited it off and on for about 2 years with 0 progress. In 2013, I decided to add student to my list of descriptors (wife, mother, artist, etc.). I am attending school full-time, working full-time and maintaining a household. With a lot of support from my husband and family, this has been rebuilding my confidence and giving me motivation to revisit my weight issues.

A little about my ...
Hello! I'm a working mother of 2 young children. I joined Sparkpeople back in 2012 and have revisited it off and on for about 2 years with 0 progress. In 2013, I decided to add student to my list of descriptors (wife, mother, artist, etc.). I am attending school full-time, working full-time and maintaining a household. With a lot of support from my husband and family, this has been rebuilding my confidence and giving me motivation to revisit my weight issues.

A little about my weight issues...

Childhood: As the youngest of 5 children with an 8+ years age gap from my siblings, my childhood was very bumpy. I was in the background to a lot of my siblings' crises (read teen pregnancy and teenage motorcycle accident). I spent a lot of time with my Grandparents comforting me by taking me out to McDonalds and Burger King, and alone - with junk food - soothing myself.

Teen Years: At age 11, my teacher decided that the whole class was going to start running everyday in preparation for the 1000-meter run at the end of the school year. I was tired of being the fat girl and wanted boys to like me, so I used this enforced exercise to start my first diet. It went something like this: skip breakfast, soup for lunch, frozen entree for dinner and try not to eat or think about food otherwise. I also picked a rule somewhere along the way that I would never have more than 15 grams of fat in a day (it was the 90's after all). I dropped about 35-lb and grew about 4 inches giving me a very thin body. I also developed a lot of disordered habits in this time (like eating a bowl of rice krispies and then exercising for an hour following it).
When I started high school I was at an all time low weight of 124-lb. I struggled with deep depression through my high school years and used food as my dearest friend and worst enemy. My weight bounced between 148-170 over those years.

College: I continued to struggle with depression, although much less severely. I continued to over-exercise and bounce between under-eating and bingeing.

Adulthood: I started my first trial of a low-carb diet the first week of my full-time job. I had moderate success. I became very depressed working a full-time job and part-time job just to barely make ends meet. I had very little of what I deemed success on the diet, so I began to train for a marathon in the little free-time that I had. I reached about 16-miles in my training and decided to call it quits on the running and second job to pursue a social life instead.

Some co-workers and I started a band. Drinking 3+ nights a week and lack of exercise, the weight began to creap back on. I also continued to struggle with my bouts of deep depression, burying my sorrows in food and alcohol.

In 2005, our band broke-up, 2 friends came to live with me, and I began a party every night stint. I finally did not feel so alone, but I felt very bad about the way that I looked and the way that I was treating my body. Through episodes of extreme exercise and skipping meals, I managed to maintain my weight in the 170's.

In the following years, I became very close with my now husband. He loved me for the true me. We got married and had 2 children. In my first pregnancy I gained 75-lb, which is especially disturbing for someone who was already overweight. And the weight did not come off from breastfeeding. After he turned a year, I quit breastfeeding and convinced my husband to try low-carb dieting with me. He lost 60-lb, I lost 30-lb.

We decided to have another child. This time I gained 60-lb. And again, the weight did not come off afterwards. In the following years I attempted several diets including low-carb, juice fasting, and my pre-teen low fat diet. But I could not stick to anything!

Present: I'm ready to put all of my past with food behind me and start fresh. The confidence I've gained from going back to school and has given me the confidence to get healthy and take things one day at a time. I'm tracking my food and exercise with Sparkpeople, seeking support, and trying to focus on the good things in my life.
Read More About DEELOVELY1 (Updated March 14)




SparkFriends



SparkTeams



My Ticker:

 current weight: 206.6 
 
209
188
167
146
125


 
Interact with DEELOVELY1

Send Member a Private Message








Recent Blogs:





 
Profile

Member Since: 2/26/2012

SparkPoints: 4,634

Fitness Minutes: 2,935

My Goals:
Get to a healthy weight. Wear a size 8.
Have more energy.
Feel good in my own skin. Be confident in photo ops.
Get control over emotional eating.
Build muscle.


My Program:
Watching my portion sizes, but no food is "off-limits". Trying to make healthy food choices whenever possible. Walking 7 days a week and doing strength training 3 days a week.

Personal Information:
Hello, I'm Diana from Lansing, Michigan.

Other Information:
A life lost is full of good intentions.

Profile Image





 
 



Fruit Salad
From:
Raw Foodies

The Spark
From:
SP_STAFF




Member Comments:
CUPCAKE_PIRATE
8/7/2012 10:34:15 AM

Thanks for adding me as a friend! Sounds like you're motivated and look how much you've lost already - Congrats!!!
emoticon



Report Inappropriate Comment
CTRACIN
3/29/2012 5:37:13 PM

Hello! Welcome to SP!! I've added you back as a friend. I look forward to seeing your achievements along the way. Thank you for adding me as a spark friend!

emoticon emoticon



Report Inappropriate Comment
LEGACYCHANGERS
3/2/2012 2:22:49 PM

Welcome to the Lansing SparkTeam!



Report Inappropriate Comment

See My SparkFavorites
View My Food and Exercise Log
Report Inappropriate Page