DMS1946   35,232
SparkPoints
30,000-39,999 SparkPoints
 
   




Some help from my friends



I have 1 pics in my gallery





Awards






 
Journey to Health & Fitness

I live in �sunny southern california in a 55 + community that I moved to in 2015. I moved here after living in sunny San Diego, California for 50 years. San Diego is now about 70 miles away but has similar weather so that is good. I love being retired. I find it amazing how many activities are out there for seniors�and many of them are little to no cost.

Now a bit about my health. My highest weight was 248 lbs in 2011. I am now down to 186. The positive lifestyle ...
I live in �sunny southern california in a 55 + community that I moved to in 2015. I moved here after living in sunny San Diego, California for 50 years. San Diego is now about 70 miles away but has similar weather so that is good. I love being retired. I find it amazing how many activities are out there for seniors�and many of them are little to no cost.

Now a bit about my health. My highest weight was 248 lbs in 2011. I am now down to 186. The positive lifestyle changes I have made have made this happen. I am finding it a little harder to lose the remaining 35-40 lbs but am hanging in there with my efforts. I find it easier for me to be physically active and more challenging to stay on a healthy eating course. However I am focusing on how far I have come, not how far I have to go.

I had a TIA in 2014. I didn't have any permanent damage but it was scary and encouraged me to continue taking good care of my health. I also have problems tolerating statins which is recommended for someone having a TIA. However my doctor said taking a small dosage 3 x a week (which is all I can tolerate) can offer some benefits so I am following her advice. I also have arthritis and a few other typical age related issues but consider myself pretty healthy overall for a 69 year old.

SP has been very helpful. I find the trackers especially good for keeping me accountable. I also have enjoyed the recipes, reading the blogs and support from my team members to be invaluable.

Read More About DMS1946 (Updated February 25)




SparkFriends



SparkTeams





 
Interact with DMS1946

Send Member a Private Message





Recent Blogs:


This user doesn't have any public blog entries.







 
Profile

Member Since: 8/16/2012

SparkPoints: 35,232

Fitness Minutes: 29,721

My Goals:
Continue activities and eating habits that build my health and help me get down to 175 lbs by 12-31-16.

My Program:
Regular physical activity and posting it on Fitness Tracker is a routine part of my program. I also strive to stay between 1400-1600 and follow Spark People nutrition guidelines for fat, fiber cholesterol and sodium. Finally, I find doing regular meditation helps me manage stress. This is important as I tend to overeat and binge when stressed.

Personal Information:
I have been married for 46 years. We decided not to have kids but consider our doggies to be our kids.

My husband and I have a good relationship but decided to each have our own home. So far it is working out great with him still living in San Diego and me up here.

I enjoy playing solitaire, reading, drawing. surfing the net and walking my dog and taking it for car rides. I also enjoy doing strength training and swimming in our hugh community pool we have.

 
 



High Five
From:
Challenged by A...

Valentine
From:
Knee/Hip Replac...

Balance Board
From:
DMS1946

Sunshine
From:
Healthy Life Af...

Balance Board
From:
DMS1946

Fruit Basket
From:
Healthy Life Af...




Member Comments:
This user doesn't allow comments.

See My SparkFavorites Report Inappropriate Page