PATTI7177   57,836
SparkPoints
50,000-59,999 SparkPoints
 
 
Me when I was 42 and 185 pounds





Me on my bike at a benefit ride in April 2015





My husband Ben and I at my daughters' double wedding



I have 43 pics in my gallery





Awards






 
Young at heart

Hi all! I am a 50 yr old mom of 5 and grandma of 7! Actually that is not quite accurate. I have 3 daughters at this point. My son died while risk-taking September of 2008 at the age of 22. He was my only boy and I couldn't have been more proud of him. I also lost my second oldest daughter to hydrocephalus in April 2012. Her son is my oldest grandson. I left a controlling and abusive husband in June 2008, spent the summer living in a domestic violence shelter, moved into my own apartment and ...
Hi all! I am a 50 yr old mom of 5 and grandma of 7! Actually that is not quite accurate. I have 3 daughters at this point. My son died while risk-taking September of 2008 at the age of 22. He was my only boy and I couldn't have been more proud of him. I also lost my second oldest daughter to hydrocephalus in April 2012. Her son is my oldest grandson. I left a controlling and abusive husband in June 2008, spent the summer living in a domestic violence shelter, moved into my own apartment and started college in August, then lost my son. I had previously weighed in at 247 lbs on my 40th birthday and started changing my life. I was at a very healthy 183- running 3 miles several days a week and weight training. People told me I looked like one of my kids and an athlete. With all that happened I ate to console myself and stopped exercising. Now with my Bachelor's degree behind me and weighing in at 257, I am again concentrating on me. I am now a Teacher, working with special needs students. I also have met the most wonderful man who loves me just the way I am but is committed to getting healthier with me. We got engaged July 11, 2011 and were married May 26, 2012. His name is Ben! Thanks for letting me share! I am looking forward to success and making friends!! Have a great day...

Read More About PATTI7177 (Updated March 16)




SparkFriends



SparkTeams



My Ticker:

 current weight: 216.0 
 
257
227.75
198.5
169.25
140


 
Interact with PATTI7177

Send Member a Private Message








Recent Blogs:





 
Profile

Member Since: 5/3/2009

SparkPoints: 57,836

Fitness Minutes: 14,625

My Goals:
To do my best for my students; become healthy again; spend more time with my husband, kids, and grandkids; redo my house the way I want it to be.

My Program:
I am continuing my education, bike riding and walking with my husband, consciously making an effort to be involved with my kids and grandkids regularly, taking care of myself by seeing doctors for regular check-ups, yearly mammograms, and even skin checks for potential skin cancer.

Personal Information:
I have lived in Spring Hill Florida for the last 33 years. I grew up in Bergen County NJ, specifically a little town called Oradell.

Other Information:
My husband Benjamin is the greatest blessing I have been given besides my children and grandchildren. He is my support and guide through life. I love kids! My favorite movie of all time is "Yours, Mine, and Ours" the original version.

Profile Image





 
 



Beach Ball
From:
Pasco, Hernando...

Movie Tickets
From:
COCOTTELABROUE

Flower Pot
From:
ANGIESTURN

Cruise
From:
PATTI7177

Flowers
From:
REJOHNSON3

Medicine Ball
From:
CRACKERS4554




Member Comments:
COCOTTELABROUE
3/20/2016 10:18:17 AM

Hello Patti! Thank you for the goodie!
emoticon
I enjoyed reading your short bio. Thank you for sharing. I am also a wife and I used to be a teacher. I taught FSL. Although I still teach on occasion, I teach adults, and mostly people, who will also be facilitating. I work for the Government of Canada. Anthony (that's my husband) and I don't have children...yet? We want children, but I'm getting on in age (41) and I'm having trouble conceiving because of my age and weight. So, we've taken to adopting animals; we now have 3 labrador retrievers (Scout, Freddy and Betty) and 3 cats (Mouser, Bootsy and Timmy). It can get quite chaotic in our house.
emoticon



Report Inappropriate Comment
CRETE2953
3/16/2016 8:54:21 PM

Thanks for the nice words on my blog Patti. It's all of you, my friends at SP, who are an encouragement for me.
emoticon



Report Inappropriate Comment
FRUITYFUL
2/21/2016 3:05:20 PM

Hi Patti,

I have been getting at least 60 minutes per day of exercise by walking during my lunch hour, commuting to and from work on my bike on some days, walking outdoors when I can (to run errands or pick up a couple items at the grocery store) and I walk on my treadmill when I'm watching tv. I try to fit my exercise in to my daily routine. If I don't, I'm less likely to stick with it!

When I started out, I didn't do this much each day. I've built up to it. I feel like the more weight I lose, the more I need to step up the exercise.

Happy Sparking!

emoticon



Report Inappropriate Comment
DARLENEK04
2/4/2016 9:18:31 PM

Hi Patti,

Thanks for popping by my page and hope you are having a great
week...
I see on your feed you had a productive day...(I commented)

Lets rock on my friend,

DarleneK



Report Inappropriate Comment
MA_DIDDLES
2/1/2016 10:57:14 AM

Patti - emoticon for the reminder that I have the Key to my future. U R Right, It is all up to me if it is to be. The best to you on your journey. Ma



Report Inappropriate Comment
Member Comments Page (71 total):  123Next >Last >>

See My SparkFavorites
View My Food and Exercise Log
Report Inappropriate Page