PEPPERMINT125
60,000-79,999 SparkPoints 65,716
SparkPoints
 
SparkGoodies

Blue Ribbon
From:
QuickFire Chall...

Key
From:
ITSDIANNE

Candy Cane
From:
RONDAJO56
Awards

 
Interact with PEPPERMINT125
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts


Update January 2, 2016
Recommitting to this journey today. I am doing the Winter 2016 5% Challenge and hoping for success. There will be challenges this year as my husband is having hip replacement surgery. My 4 kids are grown and on their own paths for the most part with occasional support needed from Mom and Dad. Hubby and I face some financial challenges because of his health issues and I am trying to tackle those. One of my biggest challenges this year (in addition to weight loss) is decluttering our home and ultimately preparing to downsize now that the chicks have flown the nest. Looking forward to making progress on many fronts during 2016!

Update: January 25, 2015
I am approaching 5 years of cancer free. February 6 will be 5 year anniversary of my double partial masectomy. Have had a stressful ordeal with my husand in fall 2014 when he had a quintuple heart bypass surgery followed by a severe stroke. We had months of hospital and reha followed by gradual recovery at home. He isn't fully recovered yet, but he is doing much better and I am thankful to have been able to be there with him throughout his recovery.
I am looking forward to a busy 2015. Hoping to lose at least 20 pounds. One of my daughters is living with us this winter and spring as she does her student teaching. She graduates in April. My oldest son recently moved to Columbus Ohio about 5 hours from us. Hope to get to visit him in the spring. My older daughter is living a few hours away in Detroit area. Get to see her occasionally since she isn't too far away. My youngest son is away at college. Looking forward to some family weddings this year and also a trip with my hubby to celebrate his recovery! Looking forward to a good year and celebrating life! End of January 2015 update.

This has been a year that has awakened me to improving my fitness and health. I was diagnosed with breast cancer on Christmas Eve 2009. I had double breast cancer surgery in February 2010 followed by 3 months of radiation therapy. Fortunately the test results say I have low chance of recurrence, but I am determined to make my health a priority. The rest of my life is pretty normal. I have four kids, two boys and two girls ranging in age from 16 to 25. We have all the normal joys and headaches. We live in western Michigan. It is beautiful here, but oh so cold in the winter, and makes exercise a challenge from November to April. I have a wonderful husband who works very hard and shares everything in my life. I love being part of the Sparkpeople community.
Update: It's been 3 1/2 years since my surgery. I have partially met my goals having lost almost 30 pounds. I still need to lose at least another 30 pounds, but the progress I have made has already made me feel better and gives me hope for eventually attaining my goal! My kids are now age 18 to 28. The youngest is in college and one daughter is married. They are all still important parts of my life but my husband and I are also adding new activities as we no longer have kids at home on a daily basis. Looking forward to the new possibilities plus continuing to strive for my weight loss and fitness goals!


Member Since: 2/23/2008

Fitness Minutes: 61,784

My Goals:
Lose 30 pounds by December 31, 2016

Step1:
Lose 5 pounds by January 31, 2016
Step 2:
Lose next 3 pounds by February 28, 2016
step 3:
Lose next 5 pounds by April 30, 2016
Step 4
Lose next 5 pounds by June 30, 2016
Step 5
Lose next 5 pounds by August 31, 2016
Step 6
Lose next 5 pounds by October 31, 2016
Step 7
Lose next 2 pounds by December 31, 2016


My Program:
30 minutes cardio per day.
Strength training 3 times per week.
5000 to 10,000 steps per day
5% Challenge to help keep me on track.
Track my food.
Drink 8 cups water per day.
Post team challenge daily.
Log in daily.



Personal Information:
I live in Western Michigan near Grand Rapids. Near the Grand River and about a half hour from beautiful Lake Michigan. Born in Pittsburgh, raised in Michigan. Lived in Chicago area for 13 years before making our way back to Michigan.


Other Information:
Hobbies: Love to read expecially mysteries and historical fiction. Like to travel and see new places, and have been to most states in the U.S. including Alaska and to more than half of Canadian provinces. and most major Canadian cities (Toronto, Montreal, Vancouver, Victoria, Halifax and especially love Ottawa and Quebec. Outside of North America I have been to London and spent 2 weeks in Ireland when my husband was doing a major systems install in Limerick at Tellabs in the 90's. Someday, i would like to travel to see more of Great Britain including Scotland and other parts of England. Also would love to see many other parts of Europe. We shall see where life takes us!




Read More About PEPPERMINT125 - Profile Information moved here. (Updated January 2)




Shown if member clicks "Read More"
My Goals:


My Program:


Personal Information:


Other Information:


Personal Signature: (Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 December Minutes: 461
 
0
337.5
675
1012.5
1350
Login to Leave Comment
Comments
  • v MERICANDO
    Hope you enjoy your time in the Spot Light. Reading and travel are 2 of my favorite things. How great that you and your DH have been able to travel to so many places. emoticon emoticon It's wonderful that you are so involved in the work of your church. The world is so full of hurting people and in need of God's love, prayers and healing. emoticon

    emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon


    31 days ago

    Comment edited on: 11/10/2017 11:12:02 PM
  • v BILLB000
    This is a little belated, but I hope your day in the spotlight was a good one. I am impressed you are so involved in your parish. Our church is a lively parish and we are quite involved with parish life as well. Best wishes for the rest of the challenge.
    Bill
    31 days ago
  • v CHANGE4THEBEST
    Happy Spotlight Day! Have a great weekend too
    31 days ago
  • v PAGE2015
    I saw where you have been to Ireland. My daughter is planning a trip there in March. Any tips or suggestions would be great. What was your best memory?
    I hope you have a wonderful day.
    Della emoticon
    32 days ago
  • v REDROBIN47
    Patty, hope you had a wonderful day in the Clover Spotlight. So happy to have you as a Clover teammate for so many challenges. emoticon s are emoticon . So nice to come from such a large family. I am one of 3 siblings and one of my brothers has passed along with my mother & father. That just leave my older brother & myself. Reading is a good hobby. I like to do that also. I am a Michigander also but am currently living in Ohio. You live not to far where I did (South Haven). Good luck with your 5% Challenge goal. With consistency and determination emoticon
    ~Carol~
    32 days ago
Member Comments (779):  < Previous12345Next >Last >>