50,000-59,999 SparkPoints 53,169

Me and my baby Bunny

My beautiful girl Velvet

Bunny and little Peachy (R.I.P.)


Digital Camera



Shared Food & Fitness Trackers
Interact with SCHNOOTIE
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

My name is Ute, I live in Upstate New York with my husband, my two dogs and a cockatiel. Our twin girls are finishing up their college diplomas, one in NYC, the other lives in the area. I have been a Spark Member since 2006 and always enjoy the support from my fellow Sparkers. My main focus is to use the tools here to help me lose the excess weight that might lead to health problems down the road, and take pressure off my knees. After successfully completing several 5 % Challenges, and making wonderful new friends, I am returning to the Shooting Star team for the 2016 Spring 5% Challenge. This will be my first time as a Motivational Leader (ML).

2016 Summer 5% Challenge Exercise Commitment

Strength Training:
Body Weight Exercises, light dumbells, rubber bands
Minimum 10 minutes, 3 days per week.
Sources: Deck of Cards Workout, 1 Minute Crunch Sessions

Minimum 30 minutes 5 days a week
Deck of Cards Workout, 1 Minute Crunch Sessions, Walking outdoors, Youtube: Step Aerobics Videos, Zumba Workout DVD's, Chair Workout Videos on days my knees are acting up.

What will I eat?
Simple.... I love to eat, and I have been my most successful by just tracking everything I eat daily, sometimes before, sometimes after. I incorporate everything I love into my meals and snacks, since I will be changing my habits for the rest of my life, not just for a few weeks. It has to be attainable and realistic.

Member Since: 10/15/2006

Fitness Minutes: 14,466

My Goals:
Top Goal is to not develop any of the modern world illnesses that are looming on the horizon, as far as they can be prevented by making good choices.

Aging gracefully and still be able to touch my fingers to the floor when I am 75.

My Program:
2016 Summer 5% Challenge Exercise Commitment

Strength Training:
Minimum 10 minutes, 3 days per week.
Sources: Spark Bodyweight Exercises, Spark Videos, Youtube: Sarah Beth Yoga

Minimum 30 minutes 5 days a week
Walking outdoors, Step Aerobics, Deck of Card Workouts, Youtube: Step Aerobics Videos

Personal Information:
I am German, living in Upstate NY. My family consists of hubby (found in bar in 1991), twin girls (found in hospital in 1992), labrador (found at backyard breeder in 2001), oodle (found at friends house in 2002), cockatiel (found in parking lot in 2008).

Other Information:
I love life, Jesus, dogs, lavender and spreading the cheer wherever I go. My favorite bible passage is Psalm 91.

Read More About SCHNOOTIE - Profile Information moved here. (Updated June 17)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"
My Goals:

My Program:

Personal Information:

Other Information:

Personal Signature: (Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
Secrets of Success
This user doesn't have any secrets of success.
My Ticker:
 July Minutes: 961
Login to Leave Comment
  • v KURTZIE1998
    Just emoticon ing by to say emoticon from one challenge leader to another.

    Wishing you an emoticon day. Can't believe we are already heading to week 5.

    emoticon emoticon
    2 days ago
    Thanks for the kind words and pep. Love it!

    I got a full-time job (4/10s) and work from 6:30am to 5pm Mon-Thurs. Expecting to be sleeping pretty much all day on Friday and really looking forward to it. My job is all computerized, which I love for working, but thank God they put in one of those desk top panels that lifts up so you can stand for awhile, and I use it a lot. I am in an office loaded with engineers and they refused to get one, but they all have to run to the building next door, a lot, where they have a lab that actually makes something they designed on a computer, so they get plenty of exercise. Nice guys actually, and all the people there are super. My job is temp, I think. But I do not get a lot of exercise, except on Monday when I had to do a lot of chasing to figure out things.

    I am having to document inventory, there are a lot of mistakes from what they used to do that got into what they are currently doing and they need it fixed. Basically, I really like the job, but it is very tedious. Not sure how long I would like doing it, but at the same time hoping they decide to keep me for a long time. Would love it if they hired me direct, but that is based on a lot of unknowns and the main fact that they are all so nice.

    Hard to find a place where the boss isn't constantly yelling at you, and everyone is hacked off about something.

    So, bottom line is my activity in the Challenge is going to be not daily. When I get home at 6:00pm, (it takes an hour to get home) I am so tired, I basically collapse and my brain goes into brown-out mode. I am currently making phone calls on my lunch break so I can do everything I have to on Friday, so sleeping all day on Friday is out, too.

    I'll get used to it. Have a great day. I will be filling in my blanks as quick as possible, hopefully during the week days somewhere. I think early morning will work, but not sure.

    Have a great one.
    5 days ago
  • v SMASON6
    Thanks for your very kind words. I really appreciate them.
    6 days ago
    Thanks for comments on my video blog. I'll try more Coach Nicole videos!
    7 days ago
  • v OXYGEN9
    Hi Ute,

    Thank you for the wonderful Spark goodie. Dancing is awesome exercise and just something I need right now! We had a great time on our vacation. The town we go to (regularly now for vacations) is on the border with Austria, and we go to a spa on the Austrian side. The olympic pool there is right by the river, great surroundings and I love swimming there. I swam 20 lengths of the 50m pool in 37 minutes once. I wish I had a pool to swim in near our home!

    However, now that I'm at home I'm having a hard time getting back to the routine of regular exercise and tracking... I am doing better for the last two days though and hope to keep it up.

    How are you doing? I am sorry to have been mostly MIA on the team, I will try to improve that now that things are falling back into place.

    Greetings from Slovenia from me, my husband Marko (SHREKEC) and kitty Vili! emoticon

    11 days ago
Member Comments (876):  123Next >Last >>